Home •  
Our region •  
History •  
Vineyard •  
Our estate •  
Our wines •  
Caroline's blog •  
A Wonderful Natural Heritage
Burgundy is one of the larger regions in Europe. Situated between the Paris Basin and the Saône Valley, and between northern Europe and the Mediterranean, Burgundy consists of four départements: the Yonne, the Nièvre, the Côte d'Or and the Saône-et-Loire. Burgundy is a diverse region, which rich and varied natural splendours. From the Morvan massif to the Bresse plains, the vine-covered Côte d'Or to the Auxois prairies, the Langres plateau to the hills of the Charollais, and the Saône Valley to the Mâconnais mounts, Burgundy's natural gifts are a joy for inhabitants and visitors alike.
A Rich Cultural Heritage
Romanesque art (Vézelay Basilica, Autun Cathedral and Cluny Abbey are prominent examples) was prevalent in the 11th and 12th centuries. Many village churches are also fine examples of this type of architecture. With the arrival of the rib vault, Gothic sculpture and architecture gradually replaced the Romanesque style. The Palace of the Dukes of Burgundy in Dijon, the Hospices de Beaune and the tomb of Phillip the Bold are all excellent examples of this period. The castles in Burgundy mostly date back to the Middle Ages. What remains of the original buildings depends on the degree of renovation over the years.
The proud Bazoches castle epitomises the feudal period, while the Château de Sully embodies the elegance and artistry of the Renaissance. The region's rich past is also reflected by castles in Tanlay, Cormatin and Ancy-le-Franc.